Quilt Shop Adventure

This past weekend the mister and I were in Richmond. After brunch with friends Sunday we hit up Quilting Adventures at Willow Lawn.

When I moved to Richmond, I was crafty but I only dreamed of sewing. So, while I loved Joann Fabrics and Hancock, quilt shops weren’t really on my radar. I knew QA was there, but it didn’t seem like a place I needed to visit. I so wish I hadn’t listened to myself. I can only imagine a trip to QA would have turned me onto quilting earlier.

The store is very well organized, very well stocked and the staff is sooo friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. QA has fabrics I’ve only seen online (and drooled over). They have Japanese fabrics, kid fabrics, Kona solids, flannels, reproductions, the latest quilting fabrics, notions and supplies and patterns. There were quilt samples and their patterns on display. There were precut kits and patterns for purses and other small projects. They had zippers and batting and all the fat quarters you could ever want. Each section of fabric had its own corresponding fat quarter supply. It’s how a quilt shop should be laid out, in my opinion.

Can you tell I really liked the place? Not sure that was coming through.

Not only do they have all these awesome things, but they have a good sized class area in the back. And a customer loyalty program. And rewards for not using plastic bags.

So, let’s get to the goods.  I picked up a bunch of fat quarters and a Micron pen.  I look forward to going back next time I’m in RVA.

20130206-104147.jpg

QAelephants

QAkiddoset QArolledup

QAsalefq

QAmicronpen

3 thoughts on “Quilt Shop Adventure

Leave a Reply

