Row 1, Column A

As most quilt plans do, this one started with a spreadsheet.

sometimes you gotta excel it before you piece it. #craftynicole #vatech

I knew had a jelly roll (heyo!) of maroon and orange. I knew I didn’t want to recreate the wheel and wanted to leave them in their pre-cut state. That left me a couple of options. I went with a brick like effect.

after dinner, it is on like David Wilson on a rabbit. #vatech

So, I unrolled the jelly goodness and got to counting. I had just enough of each color to alternate colors and make the size lap quilt I was aiming for. Perfect! I got to piecing.

6 more to go... #vatech #craftynicole

Then I put the columns together. It went pretty by quickly after that.

half way there! well, for this part...

Did I mention that the mister even helped piece a section? He totally did! This is the Pieced by Dan section*…

p.s. @wxdan pieced this section. !!!

I had picked up a decent sized creamy white remnant when I picked up my other supplies. I laid the quilt sandwich out on my bed. This is the only large space that was not occupied by a certain furry puppy. I used Dream Green. It’s made of recycled bottles, that’s awesome. Yay saving the Earth!

even when I'm picking out quilting materials I'm thinking of the environment. this batting is made of recycled bottles! #gettrashy

Coming Soon: Basting

After I unkinked my back (oy!) I got to the actual quilting part. I still had my old machine at the time and wasn’t sure how much it was going to let me do with all that thickness so I figured basic was best. I liked the idea of through the rectangles so it appeared to be patchwork. Not too shabby, for my first machine quilting (the first quilt I made got hand-tied). You can’t really tell on the front, but I alternated the lines with maroon and orange. It looks pretty cool on the creamy back.

Autumn / Virginia Tech Throw Quilt

And of course Doppler had to test it out. He approved.

Untitled

*This was a gift for his mom, that’s why he helped. He’s not suddenly becoming Mister Martha.

2 thoughts on “Row 1, Column A

Leave a Reply

